Diaper Doodie: Diapers for 0-7 months

Number of Diapers for the first 7 months

For my niece’s baby shower, I did the auntie equivalent of buying socks for Christmas–I bought 6 months worth of diapers. For my own wee one, I bought 7 months worth of diapers, and as we have opened up our final baggie a mere 2 weeks after 7 months, I’ll say I have a fairly reliable system down.

My niece was technically born at 36 weeks, just shy of 7lbs and my son arrived about 15 minutes before his due date and was standard issue at 7lbs 9oz. They both gained the expected daily ounce and overall weight for their ages.  I *didn’t* get my niece newborn size, but my sister said the Size 1’s were a touch big. So when it came time to buy for baby D I bought the newborn sizes. I’d say if your family tends to have standard-issue babes, I’d recommend the newborn size.

A quick note on prices

For prices, pay attention to the price per diaper more than the price per container. I spent about 20-25 cents per diaper for Pampers Swaddlers. My sister preferred Huggies Snug & Dry for my niece–which are a touch cheaper but have equally good reviews (and you can get them at Costco).

I chose Swaddlers because I preferred their smell, as it was non-existent. I didn’t use cloth diapers, but I did have one cloth diaper and several string nappies. I didn’t use these as an actual diaper option, just post-shower for air time to prevent diaper rash.

I used Amazon Mom with Amazon Subscribe and Save. Which is 20% off on the cost of the box of diapers. How and where you decide to buy is your own choice. But I’ll be basing my prices off of this.

Diaper Quantities & Prices

Again, your price may be different–but focus on the price-per-diaper. I should probably say, I don’t work for Pampers nor did they give me any freebies for this post, this is just what I used. Little free word-of-mouth advertising for them I suppose. Myself and his school changes his diaper every 2 hours. He’s gotten diaper rash once (due to diarrhea), and has only had two blow-outs.

Newborn (less than 10 lbs)
Size 1 (8-14 lbs)
  • 648 diapers (3x 216 ct Swaddlers Economy Box)
  • Approximate Cost: $110.37
Size 2 (12-18 lbs)
  • 558 diapers (3x 186 ct Swaddlers Economy Box)
  • Approximate Cost: $114.42
Size 3 (16-28 lbs)
  • 648 diapers (4x 162 ct Swaddlers Economy Box)
  • Approximate Cost: $147.16

Total # of Diapers: 2110 (sorry, environment)

Total Appx. Cost: $427.85 (~$61/month)

My son is still on Size 3, as he’s around 20 lbs, my niece is also still on Size 3 as she is around 26 lbs at 16 months old.

Leave a Reply

