Reality Check: 24 Weeks Pregnant

I’ve been having an easy pregnancy so far. While I did experience nausea in the first trimester, it was vomit-free, snack-controlled, and definitely nothing to get myself an Oscar nod. I have even been able to enjoy the “honeymoon” trimester that the second trimester is supposed to be. I have been tired, true–but nothing a 30-minute nap at lunch hasn’t resolved. I don’t even have cravings so sticking to a nutrient-diverse diet has been fairly easy, eaten exactly per my schedule of snacks.

I was thinking to myself on Friday as my count down officially clicked over to 24 weeks, “pregnancy isn’t as difficult as I always thought it would be.”

giphy

It was as though I mentally jinxed my own pregnancy.

I wake up on Saturday with my left leg aching in every possible joint… what did I do? My husband massaged my leg and it improved. I stretched and kicked around… both of my calf muscles decide to seize up into a charley horse…ouch.

Ok, eventually pregnancy does have to get harder. Obviously. Maybe I should increase my magnesium intake? I haven’t done my yoga videos since I packed them up two weeks ago… I should go find those.

I crawl out of bed awkwardly–everything felt extra tight, the skin, the internal space of my organs and then I get a little kick in the belly button. Thanks, son. That was less than comfortable.

I was feeling really crampy, in the “gosh I hope coffee resolves this” sort of way (to put it politely) so we prepare breakfast and consider our unpacking tasks for the day. I guzzle my coffee and breakfast in the hopes to expedite my relief… nothin’

A shirt that I SWORE fit me four days ago, now was stretched to its max over my stomach. I must go shopping. I head to Target and buy shirts that both fit me and that my belly doesn’t somehow force an obscene amount of cleavage to show. I hunt around the clearance racks and find one pair of glorious maternity shorts, 7$… I hug them and the lady next to me gives me a concerned look. I don’t even care, I have won the pregnant-in-CA lottery. I then find and impulse buy what is supposed to be an XL dress….but is hence forth going to be my pajamas. This day is back on track.

I get home, and the heat of walking in an AC’d store has apparently made my feet swell… I struggle to get my sandles off. What is this alien body I’ve inhabited overnight??? No time… I have pregnancy shorts to put on.

My husband informs me our friends are coming over to our disaster zone of a not-yet-unpacked house. I just want a nap, but we go and clean up instead. Our friends stay and help my husband with tasks that I have been annexed from (such as lifting ceiling fans) and we later go to dinner and I just cannot eat even half of my plate, I am full to the point of nausea. We say ciao, and go home to head to the bliss that is bed.

I wake up at 3AM. Starving. I wander downstairs and make myself miso soup and a hard boiled egg. I muse over what a stereotypical pregnant lady I am right now.

I wander back upstairs and fall asleep. I repeat Saturday morning again with the leg cramps, and the uh… the other cramps still exist too. To which coffee offers no relief, again.

88954

Our friends come over again, but I cannot stay awake, I excuse myself and take a glorious 3 hour nap–entirely uncaring of anyone. Sorry all. I feel energized and back to the way things were on Friday–they way I wanted them to stay!

I wake up Monday morning (today) and–woah….belly button? What’s the deal??? I show my husband and he goes, “Heyyy! Stretchin'”

I apply cocoa butter… get ready for work and tell myself it’ll all be okay…

Leave a Reply

