Just Between Friends

The Just Between Friends event is a roaming consignment event for baby and children’s items. This is my first time going to an event like this, I heard about it through my Estate Sale weekly e-mail about a month ago and, seeing as I’m pregnant, it caught my fancy. These events occur all over mainland USA and in BC, Canada too.

mapSee? Thrifty states (and territory)

I decided to go to the Sacramento event, because it looked like it was going to be rather large, and I’m a sucker for what is, effectively, massive garage sales.

Pros:

  1. It was, effectively, a nicely organized, massive garage sale as I imagined
  2. The coordinators were responsive (I sent them an e-mail, quick turnaround)
  3. The venue had free parking and was big enough to hold the event. Nothing was cramped
  4. The volunteers/staff were very nice
  5. The deals were amazing, as promised
  6. The selection was amazing, as promised
  7. Newly minted-moms (me) got to get in early (for a 2$ fee)

Cons:

  1. It was a giant flipping warehouse, with no ACin the middle of a Californian summer. It got to 100°F (38°C) today, and does so on a regular basis. IT WAS SO HOT INSIDE!!! At the end, I was red-faced, sweating, and feeling faint. I didn’t even stay that long. Guess what tomorrow is supposed to be? Yep, 106°. Saturday? 103°. Oh yeah, those are event days too. The venue had five of those big-ish drum fans…gave an update on their Facebook page about the heat, and to bring water… no excuse! Please, never use a non-AC venue again.
  2. The entrance coordinators were disorganized. It cost 2$ to get in as a first time mom, or free if you sit in the hot entrance and wait until 4PM…. I had the pass, and a 5$ bill… take my money. But no…. the cashier wasn’t scheduled to start… until 4PM… okay? They let me in anyways, so I’ll give them a pass for that–but that doesn’t make them organized, just really nice.

I was mostly annoyed with the heat, but–not every event is going to be this hot, and not every venue lacks AC… OK. So, moving on.

10484887_481005038668952_1205106647921715421_n

See? Big venue. Huge sale. This is from their facebook page, and it’s even cutting off a all of the girls clothes, and much of the room decor and bedding sections.

photo 1

There was racks and racks of clothes, Halloween costumes, holiday clothes, tons of toys, books, cribs, everything. There was even a small leather child’s chair for 25$…. I was sooo tempted despite the complete impracticality of the purchase.

0071414114901_500X500LOOK AT IT! How cool is this??

You name it,it was probably there. You mean you want a digital baby scale? Okay. Deal. 10$, comes with batteries even. I didn’t buy this… I couldn’t think of why I would ever need it. Maybe people with preemies?

photo 3

Since I didn’t know the gender I had to pass up the sea of clothes, and…because of the heat… I passed up BOOKS and CRAFTS! And I love books and crafts. So here is what I got:

photo 5

Guess how much??? My husband guessed 250$, so I’ll consider that his blessing for my trip, because I got it all for 60$! Amazing 🙂

  • Evenflo Baby Gate
  • Evenflo TrailBlazer Backpack
  • SafeLift Universal Crib Wedge (an inclined pillow for under the mattress sheet)
  • Flannel Swaddling Blankets
  • Infantino Shop&Play 3-in-1 Grocery Cart Cover
  • Munchkin Dishwasher Caddy
  • Foam Pads (Ok… I got those for a tent floor pad… I’ll be honest, those were for me)

Everything was in new or good condition. It was all stuff I wanted, probably didn’t need, and definitely didn’t want to buy brand new. Some items were definitely more-loved than others, some people don’t take as good of care of their things. I passed those items up. I was being picky! Either way, rule number one when buying potentially used items: clean them. So that’s my next task for everything. All-in-all I was pretty happy with my haul, despite the awful heat. I’ll think I’ll tough it out next year too. Though I’ll bring a rolly-cart, a hair tie, and lots of ice water, just in case.

I recommend it, here is a link to find if there is an event near your location.

Leave a Reply

